WW1 Romance... Broken Faces

‘As the weight of the plaster of Paris slowly increased on his face, he tried to steady his breathing and not give in to claustrophobia.’

Broken Faces is a story of the kind of hallowed privilege that believed life was always going to be golden, it is the story of two young men in love with the same woman and of thousands of broken men who returned from the Front in WW1 with masks over their faces to hide the irreparable damage. These men were expected to live a “normal” life. Spanning the 1914-18 war it is ultimately a story of how love can triumph over adversity in the most unexpected of ways.

Broken Faces was a runner up to the Good Housekeeping first novel Award and won a special commendation in the Harry Bowling prize.

Praise for Deborah Carr’s Broken Faces
‘One to Watch.’ GOOD HOUSEKEEPING MAGAZINE
‘Spent most of my weekend quite mesmerised by this lovely book.’ Welsh Annie Top 500 Reviewer Vine Voice
‘Fans of Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will enjoy.’ Bookmad
‘Beautifully written, meticulously researched, this author is destined to make her mark in the literary world.’ Mr Alan Jackson
‘A poignant story of love, devotion and devastation.’ Pauline
‘Moving and believable.’ Karen Clarke, author of Put A Spell On You

A spectacularly powerful book.
J B Johnston, Brook Cottage Books