WW1 Romance... Broken Faces

It’s 1914 and Lady Alexandra Baldwyn is stifled by her claustrophobic life of privilege at Somerton Hall. Desperate to be more than a debutante, she strives for excitement like her brother Charles and his best friend, Freddie Chevalier. She pleads with her parents to let her become a nurse in France, but when her father refuses to sign the papers allowing her to leave the country she must be content with driving ambulances in London and delivering the occasional supply lorry along the south coast. What she has yet to learn is that there is little glory in war.

Freddie Chevalier is secretly in love with his best-friend’s fiancée, Meri. When Meri discovers that Charles has been unfaithful to her, she visits Freddie’s home in Jersey. The two become close and promise to keep what has happened between them a secret. It’s only when the two men are fighting for survival in the trenches of Northern France that Charles discovers their betrayal.

Heartbroken at Charles’s treatment of her and ashamed by what happened between her and Freddie, Meri joins the Voluntary Aid Detachment and is posted to nurse at a hospital in Amiens, Northern France. When one of the men suffers a life-changing injury and is admitted to her ward Meri discovers that there are more secrets she must keep from those closest to her.

Spanning the 1914-18 war Broken Faces is the story of four friends and their fight for survival. It is ultimately a story of how love can triumph over adversity in the most unexpected of ways.

 Praise for Deborah Carr’s Broken Faces:

One to Watch. Good Housekeeping Magazine

Spent most of my weekend quite mesmerized by this lovely book. Top 500 Reviewer Vine Voice

Fans of Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will enjoy. Bookmad

A spectacularly powerful book. Brook Cottage Books

A spectacularly powerful book.
Brook Cottage Books

Buy it: Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com